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Requested Decisions

Establish New VCCs for Larceny with $500 Threshold?

Establish VCCs for Weapons and Vandalism Offenses 
Punishable as Murder?

VCC

VCC

Manual Include Statement on the Change in the Larceny 
Threshold & Impact on Scoring Guidelines?



OPTION 1
LAR-2359-F9 LAR-8631-F9

Retire and Add All New VCCs

LAR-2359-F9 LAR-2359-F9

Retire and Reestablish the Same VCCs with 
New Descriptions

Offense date would be key to tie offense to 
the correct threshold

OFFENSE DATE: 06-30-2018 
Larceny $200 or more

OFFENSE DATE: 07-01-2018
Larceny $500 or more

OPTION 2
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Requested Decision
Do the Virginia Crime Codes need to change to reflect the felony threshold for grand larceny?



OPTION 1
Retire and Add All New VCCs

• Need to List Both in SG Manual or Crosswalk

• What if Threshold Changed Again?

• User Issues with New VCCs?

Retire and Reestablish the Same VCCs with 
New Descriptions

• UST (Uniformed Statute Table – used by all 
agencies) Will Adjust Description Based on                                
Offense Date

• VCC Book Will Reflect New Law and   
New Threshold

• SWIFT! Will Reflect Active VCC 
– DJIT Solution

• Need to Rely on Date-of-Offense to 
Determine Threshold 

• No Known Research Issues

OPTION 2
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Requested Decision
Do the Virginia Crime Codes need to change to reflect the felony threshold for grand larceny?



Option 2: 134 VCC Description Changes           Option 1: 134+ New VCCs
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Code of Virginia
Date of Offense May Not Identify Threshold

§ 19.2-290. Conviction of petit larceny though thing stolen worth more than $200. — In a 
prosecution for petit larceny, though the thing stolen be of the value of $200 or more, the jury may 
find the accused guilty; and upon a conviction under this section or § 19.2-289 the accused shall be 
sentenced for petit larceny. (Code 1950, § 19.1-253; 1960, c. 366; 1966, c. 247; 1975, c. 495; 1981, c. 
197.)

§ 1-239. Repeal not to affect liabilities; mitigation of punishment. — No new act of the General 
Assembly shall be construed to repeal a former law, as to any offense committed against the former 
law, or as to any act done, any penalty, forfeiture, or punishment incurred, or any right accrued, or 
claim arising under the former law, or in any way whatever to affect any such offense or act so 
committed or done, or any penalty, forfeiture, or punishment so incurred, or any right accrued, or 
claim arising before the new act of the General Assembly takes effect; except that the proceedings 
thereafter held shall conform, so far as practicable, to the laws in force at the time of such 
proceedings; and if any penalty, forfeiture, or punishment be mitigated by any provision of the new 
act of the General Assembly, such provision may, with the consent of the party affected, be applied 
to any judgment pronounced after the new act of the General Assembly takes effect. (Code 1919, §
6, § 1-16; 2005, c. 839.)
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OPTION 1
Retire and Add All New VCCs

• VCSC establishes and issues the VCCs

Retire and Reestablish the Same VCCs with 
New Descriptions

• Magistrate Division, Supreme Court of Virginia

• Department of Corrections

• Department of Juvenile Justice                                        
(Mixed Recommendations)

• No comment from Department of 
Criminal Justice Services 

• VCSC establishes and issues the VCCs

OPTION 2
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Requested Decision
Do the Virginia Crime Codes need to change to reflect the felony threshold for grand larceny?
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Requested Decisions

Establish New VCCs for Larceny with $500 Threshold?

Establish VCCs for Weapons and Vandalism Offenses 
Punishable as Murder?

VCC

VCC

Manual Include Statement on the Change in the Larceny 
Threshold & Impact on Scoring Guidelines?
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Add VCCs for Crimes Punished as Murder 
Not Under Art. 1 Homicide, §§ 18.2-30 — 18.2-37

Current Policy: Use the VCC for the type of homicide conviction.  Include the 
statute for both the underlying offense and the homicide offense.

Known Statutes:
§ 18.2-40 Lynching deemed murder (Add 38 VCCs*)
§ 18.2-45 Persons suffering death from mob attempting to lynch
Shall be guilty of murder, shall be punished as provided in Article 1 (§ 18.2-30 et seq.)

§ 18.2-154 Shooting at or throwing missiles., at train, car, etc. (Add 3 VCCs*)
A homicide that is willful, deliberate, and premeditated is punishable as murder in the first degree.
A malicious shooting or throwing resulting in death is punishable as murder in the second degree.
Death resulting from an unlawful act is punishable as involuntary manslaughter.                            (VAN)

§ 18.2-279 Discharging firearms or missiles within or at building (Add 3 VCCs*)
(Willful/Deliberate/Premeditated) The homicide is punishable as murder in the first degree.
(Malice) In the event of death, the crime is punishable as murder in the second degree.
(Without Malice) In the event of death, the crime is punishable as involuntary manslaughter. (WPN)

* VCC would have the MUR prefix
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Court of Appeals Cases
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Court Management System 

§ 18.2-35 – MUR-0944-F5
Voluntary Manslaughter

§ 18.2-154 – VAN-2940-F6
Shoot or throw missile at car without malice

§ 18.2-154/36 – MUR-0942-F5
Involuntary manslaughter



15

Requested Decisions

Establish New VCCs for Larceny with $500 Threshold?

Establish VCCs for Offenses Punishable as Murder?

VCC

VCC

Manual Include Statement on the Change in the Larceny 
Threshold & Impact on Scoring Guidelines?



Impact Guidelines Scores:
Larceny Threshold $200 to $500

Pages 1-816



Impact on Guidelines Scores
Larceny (Non-Embezzlement) 
Dollar Value of Items
Less Than $200 1.5%
$200-499 17.2%
$500- 999 19.5%
$1,000-2,499 14.4%
$2,500-4,999 7.8%
$5,000-9,999 6.7%
$10,000 or More 4.7%
Unknown 28.2%

Source: 2015 Annual Report
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2015: Approximately # of Cases:  6,000 larceny and 1,200 fraud convictions
2018: Estimated Impact:               1,200 larceny misd.  240 fraud misd.                     



Impact on Guidelines Scores
Missing or Incomplete Dispositions:

As a general rule, if an ambiguous entry 
on a prior record document cannot be 
reliably resolved, the guidelines user 
treats the information in a way that gives 
the benefit of doubt to the offender. If 
any prior record disposition information 
is missing, the guidelines user assumes 
that no conviction occurred. Likewise, if 
the existing information is unclear as to 
whether an offense at conviction is a 
felony in Virginia or a misdemeanor, the 
guidelines user assumes that the offense 
was a misdemeanor. If the seriousness 
level is unclear, but it is known that the 
conviction is similar to a felony in 
Virginia, score the conviction at the 
lowest seriousness level for that offense 
in the Code of Virginia.
Source: General Instructions, page 25
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Impact on Guidelines Scores
Question 1: Sentencing guidelines are based on historical sentencing patterns.  In Fiscal 
Year 2019, the type of larceny offenses before the court will be slightly different than those 
used to develop the guidelines.  A significant subset of the cases (i.e., those with larcenies 
valued between $200 to $499) used to develop guidelines will no longer be scored as 
primary offenses on the guidelines. Do the guidelines still represent the new population and  
historical sentencing or are there other guidelines factors needed?

Question 2: Preparers score prior record factors based on the current penalty structure.  
Any prior felony larceny related offense with an assigned value of less than $500 will now be 
scored as a Class 1 misdemeanor.  If the value is unknown, those convictions will also be 
scored as Class 1 misdemeanors. It is believed that although prior record factors are scored 
based on penalty, the factors are really proxies for measuring criminal behavior. Are the 
current prior record factors sufficient to reflect the new dynamic?
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Proposed Statement for Manual
Changes to the felony threshold from $200 to $500 for larceny and related offenses 
will impact Sentencing Guidelines in two ways.  First, based on previous studies, it is 
estimated that at least twenty percent of the larceny and fraud offenses will now be 
classified as misdemeanors and no longer covered by sentencing guidelines.  As a 
result, typical larceny or fraud guidelines case sentenced in Circuit Courts in 2018 may 
be different from the historical cases used to develop the guidelines in effect today.  

Second, prior record is scored based on Virginia’s current penalty structure. As of               
July 1, 2018, when scoring factors like “Prior Convictions / Adjudications,” “Prior Felony 
Larceny Convictions/Adjudications.” “Other Prior Felony Property 
Convictions/Adjudications,” or “Prior Misdemeanor Convictions/Adjudications” the 
value of the property must be determined.  When the value of the property is required 
to determine a felony designation, the preparer must determine the value of the 
property.  In some cases, such as larceny of a firearm, the crime is a felony regardless 
of value.  In other cases, if the preparer cannot determine that the prior felony 
convictions involved property valued at $500 or more, the prior conviction must be 
scored as a misdemeanor.  Restitution can be used to establish a value, but only if the 
restitution is at least $500 and the previous conviction was for a felony in Virginia.  
Rules for converting out-of- state prior convictions remain the same, but the value 
must be at least $500. 

The Commission will continue to monitor judicial sentencing for several years before 
determining if the larceny and fraud guidelines need to be modified to better 
represent judicial sentencing across the Commonwealth. Information on felony and 
misdemeanor guidelines factors, in combination with departure reasons, will be used 
to assess possible changes.  If deemed necessary, recommendation will be made in a 
future Annual Report and submitted for legislative review and approval.
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Requested Decisions
Thank You
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